Elizabeth Arden Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Elizabeth Arden
Shop Eyeliner or
Choose a Category

Customer reviews for Beautiful Color Beautiful Color Smoky Eyes Pencil

Beautiful Color Beautiful Color Smoky Eyes Pencil

This long-wearing pencil in rich colors gives your eyes definition and drama. Smudge tip creates a smoky look.
Overall rating:
4.409 / 5
4.4
 / 
5
(22 reviews) 22
Customer reviews for Beautiful Color Smoky Eyes Pencil
Review 1 for Beautiful Color Smoky Eyes Pencil
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer avatarpuppy95
Rochester, New York
Age:65 or Over
Foundation Requirements:Provide lasting coverage
Time Spent Putting on Makeup:5-10 minutes

From the past

Posted09/03/2014
Wishing you would re-create the pencil color from years ago called, " Ink Berry ". It was the most beautiful cross of black, blue and purple. So disappointed that I cannot find another color like it.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Beautiful Color Smoky Eyes Pencil
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer avatarAlohafrom
Ewa Beach, Hawaii
Age:45 to 54
Foundation Requirements:Protect my skin from the sun
Time Spent Putting on Makeup:10-15 minutes

Can't do without this pencil!

Posted06/25/2014
I have been using the Expresso eye pencil for over 20 years too! I have tried other brands and there is no comparison. I tear a lot, so for me, this is the only pencil that is absolutely tear/smudge proof! Please don't change the formula. I had a problem a few years back with the tip always breaking EVERY TIME I sharpened it and it didn't happen to just one pencil... Yes, it was very frustrating and expensive. I bought a lot of different sharpeners and that still didn't work. I would put the pencil in the freezer before sharpening which helped. Finally, I started to go to the EA counter and have them sharpen my pencil for me until they gave me one of their extra sharpeners and I haven't had a problem since. I would have bought a pencil sharpener and still would like to purchase another sharpener but they don't sell it. I am so disappointed...I used to get my pencil from the NEX but for almost a year they have been out! I went to Macy's because that's where I first started buying my pencil and they no longer carry Elizabeth Arden....I am at the very and I mean very bottom of the pencil and will need to order it online. At least, I have that option...please don't discontinue making the Expresso Pencil.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Beautiful Color Smoky Eyes Pencil
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer avatar3deb
Raleigh, NC
Age:55 to 64
Foundation Requirements:Even out my skin tone
Time Spent Putting on Makeup:5-10 minutes

Love!

Posted06/16/2014
I have been using this pencil for over twenty years and absolutely love it. Over the years I have tried other pencils, including those that automatically sharpen themselves and nothing beats this one. It lasts a long time and doesn't need sharpening every time you use it. I can make a line that looks natural and smudge for a smoky look in the evenings. I use espresso and pine. There used to be another green color that I loved but I can't find that anymore. Oh, and because it is an Elizabeth Arden product, I have bought it in Tokyo, Washington, DC and NC. Love, love, love it!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Beautiful Color Smoky Eyes Pencil
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer avatarhappygram
Oklahoma City, OK
Age:45 to 54
Foundation Requirements:Provide lasting coverage
Time Spent Putting on Makeup:15 minutes or more

Wonderful pencil

Posted07/12/2014
This one is a must-have. Has the smudger on one end and pencil on the other. Love it! Ordering a second to keep on hand!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Beautiful Color Smoky Eyes Pencil
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer avatarCOBrighton
Brighton, CO
Age:65 or Over
Foundation Requirements:Provide lasting coverage
Time Spent Putting on Makeup:10-15 minutes

Great Color, Great Product

Posted06/24/2014
I like this eyeliner and especially in this color. Has just a tiny hint of green. This is the third one I have used and will continue to order this color as long as they carry it. Quick shipment.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Beautiful Color Smoky Eyes Pencil
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer avatarJ863
Age:55 to 64
Foundation Requirements:Even out my skin tone
Time Spent Putting on Makeup:15 minutes or more

Finally My HG Eyeliner!

Posted04/18/2014
Pros long wearing, great color
I wish I had thought to try this pencil years ago because it gives me the definition I want but at the same time, it provides a soft, smoky look if you use the smudger. It really is more of a powder in pencil form & I love it. I apply it over eye shadow with an eye primer underneath & it stays on all day. I haven't had any issues with the pencil breaking & it doesn't have to be sharpened every time like some other pencils I've used. I have fair skin with brown eyes & medium blonde hair & the Espresso is a perfect shade for me. I hope it never gets discontinued.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Beautiful Color Smoky Eyes Pencil
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Customer avatarRubyGrace
Colorado
Age:25 to 34
Time Spent Putting on Makeup:5-10 minutes

Good, not great

Posted01/14/2014
I bought this in pine and mulberry. The pine is a dark hunter green, but it doesn't smudge very well. The mulberry is very light purple -- pretty but very subtle. They are bit dry for my liking. Also, I wish these were a little bit thicker to create more of a smoky look. But it's nice to have the smudge sponge included.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Beautiful Color Smoky Eyes Pencil
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer avatarProNYCMUA
New York, NY

Pro MUA Approved

Posted08/12/2013
As a pro makeup artist I scoffed at a fellow MUA who swore by this pencil up and down. I mean Elizabeth Arden? It isn't a brand that I see many other pros pulling out of their kits, except for the Elizabeth Arden 8 hour cream....which by the way is amazing. So given her amazing talent, experience, reputation, and recommendation I decided to give it a go. I'm so glade that I did! Let me say that this isn't a typical pencil by any means. Yes it is dry as others have mentioned but the texture and way it distributes color is similar to artist charcoal, if you have ever used it. I think that this is best for quick smokey eyes as the name suggests, mapping out different liner ideas(it cleans up VERY easily with a bit of moisturizer and a q-tip), and lining the water line. It holds it's shape pretty well too which is great so that I don't have to sharpen the pencil more than once per talent/client. Two thumbs WAY up.
+5points
5of 5voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Beautiful Color Smoky Eyes Pencil
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer avatarwoodtiger
Alabama
Age:35 to 44
Foundation Requirements:Provide lasting coverage
Time Spent Putting on Makeup:10-15 minutes

very long lasting for oily lids

Posted08/11/2013
This eyeliner glides smoothly and doesn't tug. Will last from morning till night. Its important for me because I have an extremely oily face and oily lids. I like the smudger tip. really help with applying. if I use it on my upper lids, the color will transfer just a little bit on the outer corner of my eyes but doesn't create raccoon eyes. very satisfied and will buy again.
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Beautiful Color Smoky Eyes Pencil
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer avatarBrenda
Northridge, CA
Age:65 or Over
Foundation Requirements:Protect my skin from the sun
Time Spent Putting on Makeup:5-10 minutes

Beautiful Color Smoky Eyes Pencil

Posted09/21/2013
I would not use any other pencil as this applies quite easily. Have tried many others and have used this for years.... The "wood" of the pencil is soft so it does not irritate the eye. Thank you Elizabeth Arden. And, you have many colors that I enjoy; pine, violet, smoky black, and especially expresso.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Beautiful Color Smoky Eyes Pencil
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer avatarSMH1
Perkasie, PA
Age:45 to 54
Foundation Requirements:Even out my skin tone
Time Spent Putting on Makeup:10-15 minutes

Excellent application

Posted09/07/2013
Goes on smoothly and provides great coverage.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Beautiful Color Smoky Eyes Pencil
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Customer avatarAM110
NY,NY
Age:45 to 54
Foundation Requirements:Even out my skin tone
Time Spent Putting on Makeup:Less than 5 minutes

Subtle Presence

Posted08/24/2013
This liner is perfect when you don't want to make a statement. Or you can "glam" it up for a dramatic affect.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for Beautiful Color Smoky Eyes Pencil
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Customer avatarGRANDMA
Swan Lake, NY
Age:65 or Over

Great, but...

Posted04/21/2013
The pencil is really very nice but when you have to sharpen the point you lose most of the pencil. It falls apart, very disappointed.I bought two of them but can't use them. So it's costly for a pencil that I got very little use of.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for Beautiful Color Smoky Eyes Pencil
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer avatarSuzieh

Glides on!

Posted04/09/2013
Color really enhances my blue eyes! Love this!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for Beautiful Color Smoky Eyes Pencil
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer avatarVictoriaLynn
Canada
Age:18 to 24
Foundation Requirements:Provide lasting coverage

Perfect All Around

Posted02/08/2013
I tried this for the first time about six years ago as part of a gift set I received for Christmas. I instantly loved it so much so that I haven't switched eyeliners once since then. I adore the sponge end which works great for blending but the real selling point is the amazing eyeliner formula itself. It blends wonderfully and doesn't smudge at all once it's on also it stays put when I'm at gym without fading or running and it also holds up very well when I'm at the lake swimming. I use the espresso color which accents my blue eyes perfectly and isn't too dark for my ivory colored skin but I've tried the black and it works just as well and I'm sure all the other color options are just as good.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for Beautiful Color Smoky Eyes Pencil
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Customer avatarrungirl920

Think twice!

Posted03/02/2013
I am so sorry that I bought this item! The pencil is so hard that I cannot use it. It does deserve one star for the beautiful color when smudged with nice rubber tip. I was able to find this out by trying it on the back of my hand. With tax and shipping, the price was more than double the price of the pencil. Unfortunately, I probably cannot return it.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for Beautiful Color Smoky Eyes Pencil
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Customer avatarMom6
Rome Ga.
Age:45 to 54
Foundation Requirements:Provide lasting coverage

I don't have any thing to put here.

Posted02/18/2013
I was excited to get my eye liner pencils, but they were so dry. I was pulling my skin trying to get it to work. It was like trying to use a crayon on my eye lids. I give this product a thumbs down!!!!!!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for Beautiful Color Smoky Eyes Pencil
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer avatarGayle65
Colorado Springs, CO
Age:65 or Over

Great Smoky Liner

Posted01/26/2013
I love the pine shade and have used it for over 12 years. It is a subtle deep green, not at all "flashy" for a green liner and blends well, plus easy to control line. After sharpening, I have no problem with the tip breaking, as I have with other brands due to its creamy texture.
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for Beautiful Color Smoky Eyes Pencil
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer avatarSandee70

Smooth and Easy

Posted01/12/2013
Very easy to apply - goes on smoothly, even on skin that has lost elasticity. Does not smear at all.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for Beautiful Color Smoky Eyes Pencil
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer avatarLulu80
Boxford, MA
Age:55 to 64

Beautiful soft and dark liner

Posted12/26/2012
I love the black liner I bought. I apply with short small strokes and end up with a nice straight line! The line is soft, not hard, but the color appears deep and rich. I have never had much luck with pencil liners and have preferred gel liners, but this pencil is changing my mind! Even though my eyelid is kind of crepy my line is smooth. A wonderful liner.
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.
Page:
1 2 next>>